It’s a Learning Experience: The Smoothie Cleanse

I’m sitting behind my computer and hating myself for going through with this, but hopefully my struggle will be a learning experience for you. DISCLAIMER: Research says that it only takes 3 days of smoothies and water to jumpstart your colon and detox your body. O.K. LET’S GO!

Screenshot 2015-07-08 at 10.41.21 AM

^^ For 45 days I will be consuming nothing but smoothies, juices, and a LOT of water. Reason being is that I want to regain the energy that I used to have as a raw vegan a few years ago. Back then, I lost 40 lbs in a matter of months and I felt better than I ever had; but since then my energy levels have gone south. And, in 45 days I will be starting college and I don’t wanna have to worry about making smoothies when I can just pick up an apple and go to class. I’m not the unhealthiest person in the world but I’m far from the healthiest.

Before I started this cleanse I thought this would be a good idea:Screenshot 2015-07-08 at 11.13.58 AM But then Maury told me otherwise…

Screenshot 2015-07-08 at 10.54.21 AM

So, I decided to get started immediately. Some people like to start off their new lifestyles by getting rid of all the bad food in the house, to basically remove any feelings of temptation. But in doing, so you’re not getting the whole learning experience. Overcoming the temptations is what motivates you to keep going. First, you’re overlooking the fact that your dad bought your favorite potato chips from Giant, and next you’re not giving a second thought to all the trays of ribs laid out on the 4th of July. It’s empowering to know that your willpower can surpass your cravings.

Screenshot 2015-07-08 at 11.14.46 AM

An important thing to remember while doing this cleanse, whether for 3 days or 100, is that you won’t see results over night. TheThirdPew, my favorite Youtuber, mentioned in one of his videos that he feels the need to check the scale every time he does half a push up and then “gets annoyed with [himself] every time [he] doesn’t lose 3 lbs.” If you’re striding for crazy expectations like this, then you better be putting in crazy work hours or it’s not gonna happen.

Screenshot 2015-07-08 at 11.14.11 AM

Another reason people chose not to eat healthy  is because it’s costly. And you’re definitely right. It’s not fair that the better tasting foods are cheaper, and that when you want to be healthy you have to pay for a gym membership and buy expensive organic foods. But next time you’re eating a McDouble at McDonald’s  with a smile on your face, think about this:

tumblr_n5vpvwaVcb1sfe0v7o1_500

I don’t want you to change up your way of living over night because that’s not how it works; this is a process and you need to take small steps. Don’t push yourself too hard because that’s just another way to harm your body. I’m not gonna put a bunch of health sites in the resources because frankly you can look them up at your own leisure. But below are some funny videos pertaining to this topic that grabbed my attention and that I think you might enjoy. God speed.

Resources:

Buzzfeed videos:

TheThirdPew

I will log my progress at the bottom of every blog post so “my health” doesn’t become the dominate topic on this site. I just think that it would be helpful for you to understand what someone goes through and feels throughout the process. EVERYTHING is a learning experience.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Learning Experience: The Smoothie Cleanse

  1. Okay, I’ve been reading your posts and I love them! Hilarious and very insightful at the same time. I especially love the one about learning a language. I’ve been learning Spanish for a while, and want to also start learning Portuguese. I’ll definitely keep reading this blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

